RIP Little chick

Sadly today this little chick died, after searching I found out he had coccidiosis which occurs in younger birds when growing. When these chicks were 4 weeks old we discovered blood in the droppings. We were told to give them yogurt it stopped and we were all alright. But today I saw him falling asleep in the corner not really moving. I put a water bowl in front of him but he didn’t drink so I held it to his beak he didn’t eat either which is unusual for the little chicks who are always eating. When I returned to the pen with my mum he was dead. I scrubbed all the coops down with water, then I returned inside to google it and all the symptoms where there:Not really drinking or eating

Sitting in one area not running around as usual

And blood in the dropping (which started and stopped weeks ago) . It happens quick! Yesterday running around chirping with his friends hiding under the coops and jumping up on the roofs to becoming tired, pale and loosing his appetite. The only unusual thing I noticed yesterday was when he flew up onto the hutch he lost his balance whilst flapping to hold on he was sick(a watery liquid came out his mouth) but I read up on it and when they drink and get exited or jump about they can regurgitate it, although it can be other things such as internal parasites for such a healthy happy bird I doubted it would be anything other and with the added fact I’d just filled the drinkers up. 
We are going to get medication and separate the younger birds and clean more than we do before.
RIP little chick😢

Leave a Reply

